Carnivores this Summer

img_20160711_200114
Pinguicula xWeser

It’s been a while since I touched based on the carnivorous plants, but they’ve been all chugging along.

20160731_122739

As you can see, Frank the Nepenthes x Ventrata has grown significantly. He’s going all over the place. Recently one growth finally flopped over from the weight of the pitchers, and I had to stake him up. On the other hand, my little baby Nepenthes x Lady Luck is growing slow and steadily like a tortoise.

img_20160918_233420
Nepenthes x Lady Luck

I found it drowning in one of those self watering domes at Home Depot, bit now it’s happy up against a eat window. I found that on the bug screened side, it was not enough light to pitcher. At first I thought it was a humidity issue, but misting the tips didn’t do much. But when I put it on the other side that didn’t have a screen, it started pitchering! So if you’re having issues with pitchering, it may be a light issue.

20160913_160009

My Pinguiculas have been flowering away this summer. As you can see, the flowering has also encouraged them to split. You can compare this little scene to when I first received my first pinguiculas.

lotsofpings
Top Left to Right: P cyclosecta, P Ibarrae, P gigantea; Bottome Left to Right: P emarginata x P jaumavensis, P Laueana x P Potosiensis, P xWeser

The only Pinguiculas I am still waiting for to bloom are Pinguicula laueanna ‘fuscia’, which has grown in size signficantly (it was the size of a pencil eraser, and now it covers a 3in pot), and Pinguicula esseriana, which has also grown significantly from the same-ish size to about an inch in diameter.

img_20160721_190035

Maybe I would be able to see Pinguicula esseriana better if I took all the baby Drosera capensis out…but I can’t bring myself to throw them away. I’ve been giving them away to friends, but they’re seriously weedy.

Some others decided to flower…

othercarnis
Left: Drosera Binata, Top: Drosera spatulata; Bottom Left: Dionaea muscipula (venus flytrap) var Trifid Traps; Bottom Right: Drosera Capensis

Outside, the Sundews are going nutty. The Dionaea muscipula aka Venus Fly Trap var trifid traps is super prolific as you can see from the planter below. I also have variety DM xRed Dragon, which was a rescue from the garden center (I picked a bad looking one and asked for a discount XD), and it has rebounded nicely. It is much more slow growing, but the traps are getting bigger and bigger. You can see the shadow of it in the big picture of the Drosera binata flowers above, and the sad state it was in the picture below.

bogpots
Before and After!

I’ve had this pot for a few months now. As you can see Sarracenia x Carolina Yellow Jacket (green S purpurea hybrid) has made a few large pitchers. S purpurea are known to be slower growers. The Sarracenia x Scarlet Belle has really bounced back from this. The green traps with the red mouths are the DM var trifid traps, which has gone crazy. The S leucophila and hybrid I got from the California Carnivores kind of stopped growing in the heat of the summer, but I see some new growth now that it has cooled down a little. The S flava var cuprea has really made good leaf jumps though.

img_20160716_114955
S flava var cuprea

 

Wow…that was a way longer post that I thought it would be! I have updates on orchids and succulents, as well as some miscellaneous others.

If you’re on instagram, I post a lot of pictures there the moment things happen! My username is also fishnflora. I am also also always looking for feeds that have the same interests as me 🙂

Leave a Reply

