LA Arboretum Intercity Cactus and Succulent Show Haul

20160814_171441

The LA arboretum Intercity Cactus and Succulent show was really fun despite the heat, and it was hard to refrain from spending too much!

haworthiahaul
Left: Haworthia parksiana; Right: Haworthia cooperi var truncata

As you know, I am always on the look out for Haworthias at shows. It was hard to choose between all of the babies, but I ended up with Haworthia parksiana, which has a very interesting look (it’s so TINY) and Haworthia cooperi var truncata, which I’ve been looking for forever. I prefer the latter green though, so it is currently hanging out in the shade.

crassula
Left:Crassula “Garnet Lotus” Right: Crassula “Morgan’s Beauty”

Another that I’ve been looking for forever is Crassula “Morgan’s Beauty.” I love the wide flat leaves; it’s so weird. I also found this beautiful red one, Crassula “Garnet Lotus.” I couldn’t put it down. There isn’t very much information on it because it is pretty new cultivar, so it will be interesting to see how it grows out. Currently it looks like a lotus 😉

FotorCreated
Left: Sinningia Leucotricha Right: Echinocereus rubuspinis. 

Recently I’ve been getting into gesnariads, so this Sinningia leucotricha was very intriguing. If anyone has any tips though, it would be much appreciated. The leaves got a little limp and I’ve only watered it once. The caudex is firm though, so I am not too worried. I wonder if it’s just going into dormancy with the shortening days, although it hasn’t actually gotten very cool yet. I guess we will see how it goes…

Echinocereus rubispinus was in everyone’s trays, and I understand why. It’s pink little head is so cute!

Have you had a spree lately at a show?

Leave a Reply

