Southern California Spring Garden Show: Part II, the Japanese Orchids

20160430_174242

There was a ton of orchids at the flower show, many at reasonable prices. I think that is what creates the danger zone. If an orchid is very expensive, I would just admire, but hardly tempted to buy it. But when orchids are 10-20 bucks, it adds up pretty quickly.

A quick tip: Perhaps I am just shameless, but if you pick out multiple orchids from a stall, and you as for a discount, they might give you one.

My new Japanese additions from Seed Engei:

Since getting my last little neofinetia, “Kinroukaku,” a tiger stripe type, from them, I have been looking forward to getting another variegated neofinetia. After all, we can enjoy the foliage all year round.

neofinetia
Neofinetia falcata “Fugaku”

I ended up with this nice piece of Neofinetia (Vanda) falcata “Fugaku,” which has variagated leaf margins. How beautiful is that. This one also has little pink root tips.

Something else, i was looking to purchase was a Dendrobium moniliforme. The last time I saw them, they were not in leaf, so they weren’t very attractive. But I did a little research when I got home, and again, the foliage totally got me. I think I enjoy the foliage on this little guy more than I will the flowers…

denmono
Dendrobium moniliforme “Benikida” 

Dendrobium moniliforme “Benkida”is a petite little plant with variegated green and cream leaves with streaks of pink in the middle. New growth has already started, so I missed the flowers, but I was told that flowers would be white. Apparently all the variegated ones tend to be white. I repotted this little guy as I did with all of these Japanese orchids into a modified kokedama style, which I talked about in a different post, because I didn’t like the idea of a giant ball of sphagnum. Indeed, it was bone dry on the outside, but the inside was actually still moist…which is why I dislike it. You can’t tell if you need to water or not. This little lump was actually 3 separate pieces. I thought for a few seconds of dividing and experimenting, but I just don’t have enough space for that. It has 4 new growths coming up now.

Last, but not least…

sedirea japonica
Sedirea japonica

As you may remember, I bought a little dwarf type of Sedirea japonica on my last orchid binge, “Manmaru.” It is doing decently well, and it’s putting out tons of greenery, but no sign of a spike. So when I saw she had these all in flower at very affordable prices, I couldn’t help myself but get myself one 🙂 The flowers are very fragrant.

Actually this is a good representation of what Seed Engei, who specializes in Japanese orchids, sells. The 3 main types they sell are a large variety of neofinetias, and a smaller but good variety of Den moniliforme and a few variations of Sedirea japonica. On their website, it looks like they also have some Japanese cymbidiums. They do not list all of their orchids for sale on their website, but if you ever get a change to see them in person, it is totally worth it.

That’s less than half way for the orchids, I think I will continue on in one other post 🙂

One thought on “Southern California Spring Garden Show: Part II, the Japanese Orchids

Leave a Reply

