Orchid Update #2: new orchids and repotting

neworchids
Left top and bottom NOID Phal; Top middle: Enclyclia cordigera; Bottom Middle: Ludisia discolor; Right: 

It’s been a while since I’ve talked about my orchids, but that doesn’t mean I’ve stopped haording collecting…especially since I’ve been on staycation. You know what that means: it means you just have more free time to go to all the orchid places, and you inevitably buy things.

 

I’ve had a few trips to Trader Joe’s, and I’ve been looking for a white and pink Den Phal. I found the pink one first, but then I found the one I wanted, white one with the pink lip!

While I was in San Francisco, I visited a local garden center, where I found Encyclia cordigera. I have seen pictures before, but it really doesn’t do it justice.

Ludisia discolor has been on my list for a while, but I didn’t want a giant plant…but in the end I got a rather big pot. I got it at Mickey Hargitay Plants.

Lastly, I visited Orchid Fever and bought Masdevallia Cheryl Shohan ‘The Babe’. It is probably a cool growing one, but I bought it anyway, and will pray for the best in the summer…

On a different note, remember that Cymbidium I got a while ago?

20160324_165212

Well, the flowers had gone over and I finally decided to repot it, especially since I noticed that a bunch of ants made their home in the pot. Repotting is the worst part of orchid keeping, especially when there are ants involved.

Honestly, I was getting a little worried because I only saw 1 new growth, but when I cleaned it up, there were a few that were ready to come up above the soil.

20160423_160203

Does anyone else think that Cymbidium roots look like earth worms??? It kind of grossed me out.

20160423_160549

I potted the cymdium in 1 part large bark, 1 part peat, and 1 part perlite.

Tada!

20160423_161732

What’s your least favorite part of keeping plants?

 

2 thoughts on “Orchid Update #2: new orchids and repotting

Leave a Reply

