Succulent Updates

20160310_130848
Senecio radicans

Things have been happening with succulents, but I’ve not gotten around to talk about them. So here’s a mish mash of stuff…

Lookit that cute Senecio radicans (string of bananas) flower. Senecio flowers are all very similar. It’s a bunch of small flowers and a surprising about of different colors. The plant has grown out of the pot already since I got it a few weeks ago.

Speaking of Senecios, I think I like them a lot. I purchased a trailing jade, Senecio jacobsenii, which is not a jade at all. It turns a very shade nice purple when it gets enough sun. I think I like the windows a lot of them have and the trailing quality. But then again, there’s Senecio stapeliformis, which sticks straight up.

20160318_225839
Senecio jacobsenii
stapeliaformis
Senecio stapeliformis

The trailing jade will probably be repotted this weekend. At first I was surprised to find out the trailing jade was a senecio, but on one side of the leaves has a stereotypical Senecio window. Can you see it?

 

20160318_225948

 

 

On other news, I found this Crassula mesenbryanthemoides invading the next pot over…shame on you.
20160312_122615

 

My Haworthia truncata is putting up a really long flower stalk. It has actually no fallen over and started up again. But at the time I took the picture, it looked like this…

 

And lastly, I got some new cacti, and repotted them. That Opuntia microdasys alba was a vicious one. I only touched it lightly and I had like 20 teeny tiny thorns stuck to my finger. The other is a Chamaelobivia ‘Rose Quartz’ that is about to flower.

20160310_130352

 

What are some genera of succulents that you like to collect?

Leave a Reply

