Santa Barbara International Orchid Show

20160306_145857.jpg
Left to right: Diana, Me, Edith

My co-resident and I went to the Santa Barbara International Orchid Show  this weekend. This is her first real exposure to the REAL orchid world, and I feel proud that she spent some money. When we were in line to buy tickets, a nice lady just ran up to us and handed us tickets before we even knew what was going on. Apparently, she had gotten extra tickets at work. SCORE!! To you, nice anonymous lady, thank you! That was an extra plant right there 🙂

While we were there, we ran into one of our NICU nurses, Edith, which was awesome.

We had not eaten lunch before we went, and we arrived at 11.30. I suggested looking around a while before lunch time, the sales building first, of course. The display won’t run away! And of course, we didn’t even think about lunch until 1.30pm. Lunch options were limited. We had some tacos from a truck parked outside, but they didn’t have drinks. BRING YOUR OWN WATER, or you will be parched like we were.

Here are some scenes from the marketplace…

20160306_150100
Andy’s Orchids had an even bigger booth than last time! Orchids everywhere!

 

Onward to the display (below should be s slide show)…

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

Also, a nice surprise is I found out the ID of one of my mystery orchids. I assumed it was a miltoniopsis, but I guess it’s not.

 

20151209_215155
My NOID in flower couple months ago. Now it is growing 2 new growths. 
20160306_153126
The one at the show

 

l looked on the internet for a while for this orchid, and it turns out that the label has the wrong genera (or maybe, rather, I could not find what “mltcdm” meant). I found the same orchid under Odontonia Memoria Martin Orenstein  multiple times on google, so I assume that’s the right ID.

Well, that was a lucky find anyway. What are the chances right?

Have you seen any interesting at shows lately?

3 thoughts on “Santa Barbara International Orchid Show

  1. I’m curious to find out what blog platform you happen to be utilizing?
    I’m having some small security issues with my latest site and I would like to find
    something more risk-free. Do you have any solutions?

    Like

    1. I am using wordpress, however I just kind of picked one. I am not a very experienced blogger, so I cannot really give you a good answer. I guess solution depends on what your security issue is.

      Like

Leave a Reply

