my first serious endeavor

I was hooked on planted tanks very quickly after starting a 5g on a whim, and I just fell in love with the shape of a 12g long. It’s so small, but it looks so big 🙂

 

20150707_202225July 2015 just set up and my cat is already drinking out of it

20150708_181256After it cleared up. It seemed like I had bought a lot of plants, but when it was all in, it doesn’t look like much, does it?

 

20150823_162237August 2015 You can see the moss I put on the rock has grown…with HAIR ALGAE it was never a battle I was going to win and it eventually came out.

TANGENT ALERT!!!  My initial shipment of plants from Jacobs Aquarium was in general okay. The prices were comparably reasonable, especially when you calculate shipping. However the portions tended to be small, and the site doesn’t tell you how big your portion will be. The anubias had adequate leaves; the swords were a good size; java fern and Crypt wendtii were baby sizes; THE DWARF SAGGITARIA IS ONE NODE (2.99). The java moss had a reasonable portion, but came a bit sad and brown. It took a while to perk up, the lights were kind of strong for plain ole’ moss, and TADA! ALGAE.

Since then, I acquired a WHOLE 6 months of low tech planted tank under my belt! Now I get my plants from my LFS guy, Kris @ Lotus Aquarium, and my special things from forums. I have had a good experience with Han Aquatics. He has interesting plants for reasonable prices, and they all came healthy.

20151121_182131Nov 2015  the floaters have really taken off at this point. My LFS gave me literally (not literally as in figuratively) a few pieces of frogbit and dwarf water lettuce, and at this point, I’m already giving him back a hand full every 1-2 weeks.

 

20160103_180913Jan 2016 My tank now. status post battling algae (including the dreaded BGA)…I’ve won the battle but is it the war?

See, it’s grown 🙂

Tell me about your first serious endeavor.

One thought on “my first serious endeavor

  1. Very cool how you thought to take pictures from the beginning so you have all the cool progression shots now. It definitely looks a lot more beautiful now 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

